How To Get Vegan Girl Scout Cookies!

I didn’t realize this wasn’t widely known yet, so I want to make it widely known!

You can get vegan Girl Scout cookies! Here is how.

You have buy from a Girl Scout selling ABC Bakers cookies to get vegan cookies. The other bakery some troops use, Little Brownie Bakers, does not have vegan cookies.

The ones that are vegan are: Thin Mints, Thanks-a-Lots, Peanut Butter Patties, Shout-Outs, and Lemonades. You can double-check ingredients here: http://www.abcsmartcookies.com/cookies.asp If I’ve made a mistake about any of those, someone please let me know so I don’t go on passing on misinformation — but I’m pretty certain all the ingredients on those lists are vegan.

If you go to http://www.girlscoutcookies.org, there’s a field for you to enter your (USA) zip code and find out if your local GSUSA council is partnered with ABC Bakers. If not, you can go to this Facebook page (http://www.facebook.com/pages/My-Daught … 8664525198) which is set up to connect people who don’t have a local source for ABC Bakers cookies with the cookies they want. I have not checked this out myself, but I would imagine that if you are outside the US and would pay for shipping, someone on that FB page would hook you up with cookies.

I am not affiliated with Girl Scouts or ABC Bakers in any way. I am only affiliated with veganism…and with you having cookies. :)

About these ads
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to How To Get Vegan Girl Scout Cookies!

  1. K says:

    I was not aware of this either, but today when I read the ingredients on the peanut butter patties, I was pleasantly surprised! I have been eating a vegan diet for almost a year now, so when I purchased my favorite Peanut Butter Patties this year, I assumed that they would all go to my husband. But surprise surprise– when I read the label, I realized that they did not seem to contain any animal products. So, I quickly at three in a row!

  2. Pingback: [VeganMoFo Day 10!] Ode to My Favorite Snack Foods! | rainbow soup

  3. D says:

    … maybe I’m just missing something, but I cannot find where it supposedly says on the link you provided to the girl scout page which company supplies cookies to my area.

    • choirqueer says:

      At the top of the page (http://www.girlscouts.org/program/gs_cookies/how_to_buy.asp), there is a place where it says “Find Cookies” and gives you a field in which to enter your zip code. This will take you to your local Girl Scout troup’s page. If it doesn’t say which bakery they use, look at what varieties of cookies are offered. If you see the names of cookies listed in my post — Thanks-a-Lots, Peanut Butter Patties, Shout-Outs, and Lemonades — those are only sold by ABC Bakers, so you’ll know that those four kinds are vegan, and the Thin Mints sold by Girl Scouts who have those kinds are also vegan. (The name “Thin Mints” is also used by the other bakery, Little Brownie Bakers, but theirs are not vegan, and you’ll know because Girl Scouts selling those cookies won’t have the 4 other kinds that I mentioned.)
      Let me know if this helps or if you need me to explain something differently! Good luck!

  4. Peyton Ellas says:

    Thanks for this blog post. Although, sadly, my 3 nieces are not selling cookies that are vegan, at least now I know what varieties to look for when I am assaulted,… er. I mean asked…outside of grocery stores,etc.

  5. Andy says:

    Thin mints and peanut butter patties have whey in them. This is an animal product. These cookies may be vegetarian, but they are not vegan.

    • choirqueer says:

      Thank you for raising the concern. I have double-checked and according to the ingredients lists provided on the ABC Bakery website, the information I provided is accurate. Thin Mints and Peanut Butter Patties from ABC Bakery are vegan and do not contain whey. The other bakery which supplies to some Girl Scout troops is Little Brownie Bakers, also has a product called Thin Mints which are not vegan, and also has a product similar to Peanut Butter Patties but called by the name Tagalongs, which are also not vegan. But the products I listed, from ABC Bakery, do not contain whey or any other animal products.

  6. Michelle says:

    I concur…..my daughter’s troop sells from Little Brownie Bakers and none of them are vegan, but some of the cookies from ABC Bakers ARE free of eggs and dairy derivatives. A lot of their products are similar, but Little Brownie Bakers is a subsidiary of Keebler (a Kellogg’s company) and ABC Bakers is a subsidiary of Interbake Foods (owned by George Weston Limited).

  7. Heather Rozeboom says:

    The ABC baker orderform indicates very clearly which cookies are vegan with a little leaf and it clearly says “vegan” above the image of the cookie. My daughter sells Girl Scout Cookies from ABC bakers (lucky me). There are two cookies indicated as vegan on the order form… “Thanks-a-lot” and “Thin Mints” I have not read the ingredients from ABC bakers and therefore can not comment on the vegan-ness of the peanut butter patties, but the bakery does not indicate that they are vegan in the same way they label the aforementioned.

    I am a teacher and just was approached by a student who is selling Little Brownie Bakers cookies. The order form, in contrast, does not label any of the cookies as vegan and in fact states that they contain allergens including dairy underneath the photo of each cookie. None of the Little Brownie Baker cookies are vegan (sorry).

    • xxadverbxx says:

      I concur. Saw an order form today for the cookies, and on the side it listed the various flavors. Over the “Thanks-a-Lot” and “Thin Mints” pictures there was a “Vegan” tag, but not for the “P.B. Patties” or “Lemonades”.

      So just sort of questioning the latter two, as I’d expect if the order forms for ABC’s cookies have Vegan tags right on there, well I’d assume they’d mark all their Vegan options, and not just some.

      • choirqueer says:

        I noticed this too, but when I checked the actual ingredient lists for the Peanut Butter Patties and the Lemonades, all the ingredients were vegan (to the best of my knowledge). I am not sure why this is labeled that way. If you know of any non-vegan ingredient on those list that I missed, please let me know!

        • xxadverbxx says:

          “Yes, ABC has 4 vegan cookies in our product line – our Lemonades, Thanks-A-Lot, Thin Mints and Peanut Butter Patties are all vegan.”

          Taken right from their FAQ page for ABC’s site. I sent them a message inquiring about why those two aren’t labeled Vegan on their order form.

        • xxadverbxx says:

          Well they respond fast!

          “Yes the Lemonades and the PBP are vegan. They were omitted in the printing, but they are vegan. Please enjoy!”

  8. xxadverbxx says:

    Hey, pretty new to being Vegan (only 1.5 months) so I’m still not great at ingredient reading. A new cookie Nutrifusion seems vegan from ABC at least, but I wasn’t positive. One ingredient started with “mono” which often means milk if I’m correct, but not always.

  9. Dana says:

    Under FAQ on their site, Shout Outs are not listed as vegan. I did not read the ingredient list.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s