11 reasons i’m afraid to start a blog

1. People might read it! And if they read it, they’ll judge me!
2. People might NOT read it! And then what would be the point of having a blog?
3. Everything I write might be complete and total crap!
4. I might write about things that SOUND meaningful and insightful, because I’m good enough of a writer that I can make things sound really “good”, but in actuality…it will still just be complete and total crap!
5. I’m afraid of trying too hard to impress people.
6. I’m afraid I won’t write anything at all!
7. I’m afraid I’ll end up in topic areas that are too painful for me to safely write about.
8. I’m afraid of doing too much ego-serving and not enough really well-grounded, spirit-led writing…whatever THAT means!
9. I’m afraid of offending or alienating people that I would not want to offend or alienate, and not being able to fix it.
10. I’m afraid if I blog about a particular topic too much (gender, veganism, Quakerism, Tarot, rainbows…) people will think that’s all I’m about as a person, and never be able to see beyond that and get to know ME.
11. I’m afraid it will turn out really AWESOME, and then I’ll NEVER be able to stop writing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 11 reasons i’m afraid to start a blog

  1. karencee says:

    I’m betting that practically everyone with a blog can relate. I know I sure can.

  2. Can I just say that you nailed the 11 reason I pretty much never write in my blog.

  3. Sally Vail says:

    It’s lovely like you! Xoxo

  4. Jude Mitchell says:

    I will read it! Would never be offended or judge you…. and I need to know more about veganism, Quakers, Tarot and rainbows…..and who better to enlighten me? ((HUG))

  5. Can I say I TOTALLY RELATE?!? Before I started my blog, I had the same fear. A few of my fears came true, and guess what, I’m still writing. Not as often right now, but I still am. It’s turning out to be a very good thing, all in all. So write. My advice is to keep your blog more focused either on a topic or in a writer’s voice. Don’t have a chirpy happy tone one post and then be depressive the next. Or, don’t write about a million different things. Get clear. That will help you keep it up. Write on!

  6. Adrian says:

    good to get all that out! and realize that you now have a blog! yay! may i say that this reader has enough confidence in you as a TOTALLY INTERESTING PERSON that this will be awesome, no matter what. and i’d tell you if it wasn’t!

  7. Lola says:

    Ah . . . So now I feel inspired to share a Marianne Williamson quote that I am sure ze has heard a thousand times before, but here it goes:

    “Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There’s nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone.” (A Return to Love: Reflections on the Principles of “A Course in Miracles”, Harper Collins, 1992. From Chapter 7, Section 3])

    Hearts and sunshine – Lola

  8. Pchan says:

    I just found your blog today! Hooray! These are the same ideas that held a lot of us back for a long time, but don’t let your fears hold you down! You seem like a great person, and I can’t wait to read more of your content!

  9. You read my mind. It’s pretty scary and awesome all at the same time. I love your blog so far. Keep writing!

  10. Pingback: On past and future blogging – Seek you my blog?

Leave a Reply

