Adventures in Seitan, part 1

Tonight I made seitan!

What’s seitan?

It’s a vegan protein source made from vital wheat gluten. It can be made in a wide range of textures. There are probably a zillion million fajillion ways to make it. Sometimes you may hear it called “fake meat” or “wheat meat”. I don’t like to eat things that are “fake”, though; I like to eat real food, and seitan is real food. I don’t feel like it needs to pretend to be “meat”, either; I like it just fine as its own thing. There are various recipes that focus on making it taste and feel similarly to the meat of a particular animal; that’s not what I’m really interested in. I like my seitan to just be seitan.*

It came out so well I decided it was necessary to write down what I did, or at least, a general approximation of what I did. I looked at a few different recipes, giggled maniacally at them, and then just started throwing stuff in on faith. This is normally the way I cook, but usually if I’m trying something COMPLETELY new, I at least follow a recipe ONCE.

I made a bowl of dry ingredients: 2 cups vital wheat gluten, ¼ cup nutritional yeast, about a teaspoon each of garlic powder, onion powder, and ginger powder, ¼ teaspoon black pepper. (You can use whatever spices you like. Next time I might try it with another ¼ cup of some other kind of flour too.)

I put about 12 cups of water to boil. I added veggie bouillion cubes – I used the “2-cup” cubes, but I only used 3 (so if you’re following along with maths, you want to use HALF the number of bouillion cubes that you would expect to use for the amount of water…and now having done it, I probably would use even less next time, or go with low-salt bouillion!) . You could also add veggies to your broth if you want to make a proper stock.

I chopped up a medium-sized onion and a bunch of garlic. I chopped pretty coarsely – no mincing today. I sauteed first the onion and then the garlic in olive oil. I added about a tablespoon and a half of tomato sauce. I stirred it. I added a bunch of Bragg’s. I stirred it. I added it to the pot of water.

I added about a cup and a half of water, and a few squirts of Bragg’s, to the dry ingredients. I realized right away that it was too much liquid (hence, the plan to add flour next time); I was basically wringing out my dough as I kneaded it. Knead the dough for a while. I’m not sure how to explain how I knew it was done….you can’t knead it too much, is generally the way I think it goes.

I then ripped my blob of dough into chunks and plopped each chunk in the broth. Remember that your chunks are going to expand a lot while they cook, so keep that in mind as you think about what size to make them. Then I reduced the heat to a simmer, put a lid on the pot, and boiled it for about an hour and a half.

Finally, I used tongs to transfer the boiled seitan to a colander. I used a pot lid to press as much liquid as possible out of the seitan.

Stay tuned…I’ll let you know what I do with it next!

*I don’t hate on fake meat products. I eat them. They’re tasty. I just feel like I’m perfectly happy for them to not be meat, and to just be their own tasty vegan food thing!

This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Adventures in Seitan, part 1

  1. Pingback: Curry Up Already! | rainbow soup

Leave a Reply

