Adventures in Seitan, part 2

On Saturday, I made seitan.

Yesterday, I experimented with cooking it.

I got the idea for the sauce as I was sitting in Meeting for Worship with Attention to Business*, as the end of the meeting drew near and the level of expectation I had for my attention waned. My thoughts wandered to the flavorful pot of broth in which I had boiled the seitan. I wonder what it would taste like if I put a cup of that in the blender with some greens, I thought. I started contemplating the proportions of flour and nutritional yeast to get the sauce to the ideal thickness.

After the meeting was over, I said a hasty goodbye to a few people, then jetted out the door and drove home as fast as I could get away with. I was so excited to get started!

This is what I did to make the sauce:

I put a cup of the broth (including the stray onions and garlic) in the blender. I added a few handfuls of arugula, a splash of soy milk, a tablespoon of flour, and two heaping tablespoons of nutritional yeast. I hit the power button on the blender. It came out completely liquid. I added a couple handfuls of spinach and some more nutritional yeast. Still pretty juicey, and not really substantial enough in flavor, either. I looked around the kitchen, considering what else I could add, or if I were just going to add more nutritional yeast (my thickening agent of choice).

Walnuts!

I put a handful of walnuts in and set the blender awhirl again. NOW we’re talkin’! I added a few more handfuls of walnuts. It got better and better! I ended up with a creamy, light green sauce.

I then got out the seitan and began sauteing it in some olive oil. I used about half the seitan that I made, so that I could do something different with the other half. I let it get a little golden, but didn’t wait for it to brown. I added about half of the sauce (also saving the rest for another experiment) and lowered the heat so it would all cook together without burning. I let it cook for a few minutes while I set some twirly wheat noodles to boil. Then I tasted it. It was okay, but I felt like it could use some more bite and some more heat, so I added hot sauce** and the juice of half a lemon.

When the noodles were done, I stirred them together with the seitan and sauce!

It was pretty good, but I think next time I would use more lemon and maybe even add some garlic to the sauce. I think the sauce could have used a lot more tomato, too, but I am sensitive to tomatoes and I didn’t feel like pushing my limits with that. I would also cut the seitan into smaller pieces.

Stay tuned for more adventures!

*The Quaker practice of Meeting for Worship with Attention to Business is so-called because the idea is that our connection with Spirit is the primary guiding power for the work of our community, and so wehave our “business meetings” in a worshipful, spiritual manner, where we intentionally focus on how Spirit is leading us to act, just as we do in our worship service.

**The hot sauce currently in my fridge is Trappey’s Red Devil cayenne pepper sauce. It’s pretty wimpy. I need something stronger!

This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

