Turnip’s Big Move

VeganMoFo 2011

While I was working on the Vegan Soul Kitchen soundtrack about which I posted yesterday, I discovered some incredible music. This brought me great joy, as discovering incredible music is way up there on my list of things that I love, right beside delicious vegan food.

On page 87, I discovered that there is a song called “Turnip’s Big Move”. It is featured in concert with a recipe for “Roasted Turnips and Shallots with Turnip Greens Soup”. The recipe looked absolutely delicious, in and of itself, but honestly…I really just could not resist trying a recipe that went along with a song called “Turnip’s Big Move”. And I hadn’t even heard the song yet!

Well, the song is amazing, just in case you were curious, and it meant that I absolutely had to add turnips and shallots to my grocery list this week so I could try out this soup.

I was a little dismayed to find that the turnips on sale were bald.
Three turnips on a cutting board, utterly bereft of plumage

I considered buying turnip greens separately, but I almost felt like I would be violating some law of vegan Kashrut to cook my turnips with greens from…some other turnips. I didn’t have to worry about that, though, because there were no turnip greens to be found! So I decided to use spinach, instead.

When I got home, I unloaded the groceries and hit “play” on “Turnip’s Big Move”.

One of my turnips had a big move, indeed.

Turnip with carved face, beside a knife with turnippy entrails dangling off the blade
It fucking carved itself a face.

I decided I better act quickly before this crazy-ass turnip made rainbow soup out of me.

I preheated the oven to 400F. Then I diced up my turnips into bite-sized pieces. I chopped up about 3 shallots, too, though next time I think I will use more. I tossed them in a bowl with a teaspoon of olive oil and a pinch of salt, then lay them out on a sheet of aluminum foil atop a baking tray. I roasted them in the oven for 1 hour.

The recipe called for 3 cloves of garlic. My rule for garlic is that I always double the amount given in any recipe, which defies conventional cooking wisdom (you can always add more, but you can’t take it away once you’ve added it) and replaces it with my own wisdom (too much garlic is better than not enough). So I used 5 cloves (two of which were enormous). I sauteed them in olive oil in my large saucepan, then added a couple BIG handfuls of spinach and a pinch of salt, stirring until the spinach was all cooked down. I didn’t have any prepared broth or stock on hand, so I added 6 cups of water and 1 bouillion cube. (The cubes I use are supposed to be 1 cube : 2 cups of water, but that’s way too salty for me, so I do 1 cube : 6 cups.) I added a few pinches of thyme and rosemary, and shook in some cayenne hot sauce (you could just use cayenne, but I’m not going to buy any cayenne powder until I use up this hot sauce!)

When the timer rang on the oven, I removed the baking tray and added the roasted turnips and shallots to the pot. I added some more rosemary, a heaping tablespoonful of nutritional yeast, and black pepper. I turned up the heat, bringing it to a boil, then reduced it to a simmer and let it hang out like that for about 5 minutes.

Roasted turnips and shallots with spinach greens soup, in a pot on my stove

YUM!!

Roasted turnips and shallots with spinach greens soup, in a bowl waiting for me to eat it

I had never cooked with turnips before, so this was very exciting! It came out really well! I would definitely make this again. It was very easy to make, too.

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Turnip’s Big Move

  1. Lee says:

    Cool! I love turnips but the only way I ever cook them is boiled, then mashed with some brown sugar, salt and pepper and Earth Balance mixed in. This soup looks and sounds really yummy! Gotta give a go!

  2. Do you have something against the co-mingling or mixing of turnips? 😛

    Turnips are always so cheap here, but I wind up using them in stew or just boiled. Our are always bald, I wish we could get some greens here.

    • choirqueer says:

      It just seemed so wrong to have to buy the greens separately from the turnips! They’re supposed to come together!

  3. Erin says:

    I support your garlic philosophy! And I love Vegan Soul Kitchen, such a fun book.

  4. zwingtip says:

    That looks AMAZING and I don’t even like turnips! And your garlic rule completely makes sense. Why do it any other way?

  5. Eve says:

    That looks delicious. I am consumed by guilt for ignoring turnips my whole life.

  6. Mo says:

    Must try this soup! I’ve always wanted to make something from VSK while listening to the soundtrack. You’ve inspired me.

  7. Nicole says:

    I have never had a turnip before, but this soup looks so delicious I’m going to have to try it!

  8. phoenix says:

    That looks so yummy. I wish someone would cook this for me and bring it to my bedside.
    I’m joking; I’m actually feeling much better already. I’m just going to pull myself together and cook it for myself one of these days!

  9. Meilani says:

    I’ve only eaten turnips once and because that experience was so awful I was never going to try them again. But your soup looks really delicious and we have the same philosophy on garlic so I’m sold. Can’t wait to try this recipe!

  10. Kate says:

    Yes! Never enough garlic! The soup looks so good and I love your turnip face!

  11. Pingback: A New Week, A New Turnip | rainbow soup

  12. Pingback: Vegan Soul Kitchen GIVEAWAY!! | rainbow soup

Leave a Reply

