The Best Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins (the Choirqueer Remix)!

VeganMoFo 2011

I would like to share with you my recipe for chocolate chip pumpkin muffins today!

This recipe was inspired by Isa Chandra’s recipe for “The Best Pumpkin Muffins” on The Post Punk Kitchen.

Ingredients
1 3/4 cups flour
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon (I usually go with a heaping teaspoon!)
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1 cup pureed pumpkin (fresh or from a can)
1 tablespoon soy yogurt
1/2 cup soymilk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 1/2 tablespoons maple syrup
chocolate chips (I use about half a bag of Tropical Sun brand
semi-sweet chocolate chips)

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 F. You can grease your muffin tins with vegetable shortening or spray-on oil, or use muffin cups. I always use muffin cups.

Sift your dry ingredients – flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and spices – together in a bowl. Whisk together your wet ingredients – pumpkin, soy yogurt, soymilk, oil, and maple syrup – in a separate bowl. Combine the wet and dry ingredients and stir them together until you’ve got a smooth batter. Make sure your batter is really smooth now, because you’re about to add the chocolate chips and once you do that, you won’t be able to tell if you have lumps! Okay, got it? Good, now add the chocolate chips. If you’re not sure if you’ve added enough chocolate chips, add some more! You can never have too many chocolate chips.

Fill your muffin tins 2/3 of the way. If you’re making small-sized muffins (which is what I always do), I find they need about 20-25 minutes. The original recipe is for jumbo muffins and says to bake them for 27-30 minutes. You’ll want a toothpick inserted in the center to come out clean.

One trick I found worked really well was to refrigerate the dough overnight, and then bake it. Try it both ways and see which you like better! The muffins are fabulous either way.

This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Best Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins (the Choirqueer Remix)!

  1. Kaitlin says:

    yummm! I’m a huge fan of pumpkin muffins. One time at EC some girls were selling some vegan ones for a Tanzania fundraiser and I’ve been trying to replicate it ever since. This might be the one!

  2. Adrian says:

    SQUEEEEEEEE
    I just found out that my store sells Wildwood soy yogurt which is the bestttt! As soon as we get us some pumpkins…… ooohh!

  3. David the Feuer says:

    Oh no you didn’t! Now I’m gonna have to make chocolate chip pumpkin muffins!

  4. rachell37 says:

    I love putting chocolate chips in this recipe, but I’ve only ever just dumped some in without making any other change. These look great! I might have to try them some time.

  5. phoenix says:

    I’ve never tried refrigerating the batter overnight. Now I’m curious. I need to find out what difference it makes! Oh, and I have another excuse to get this amazing Joya vanilla soy yogurt (which only comes in huge containers)… ;))

  6. Pumpkin and chocolate were made for each other. Like Hedwig and wigs.

  7. Pingback: Pumpkin Dreams: 11 Things I’d Make Right Now If I Had My Own Pumpkin Patch | rainbow soup

  8. Adrian says:

    ok, so you might have specified the amount this recipe makes! I thought, oh, it’s just a standard dozen, i’ll double. well, there are two dozen in the oven RIGHT NOW and I have no idea how many more left to be made. …still, the batter is so damn good on its own, i don’t think anyone will be complaining about too many muffins. i made some with chocolate chips and some without, as per my roommate’s request!

  9. Emily says:

    “If you’re not sure if you’ve added enough chocolate chips, add some more! You can never have too many chocolate chips.” Um, YES.
    I just made these sans chocolate for a(n omni) friend and she loved them. Or in her words: “I got completely muffin-faced.”

  10. Adrian says:

    these are also going on my thanksgiving table as name-placemats; i’m going to pipe guests’ names on them with cinnamon icing so everyone knows where to sit. ’tis a long-standing holiday tradition on my part. i have only in recent years begun to make them edible, and they get progressively more awesome each year.

  11. Pingback: Pumpkin-Chickpea Scramble | rainbow soup

Leave a Reply

