Pumpkin Tofu Scramble (brought to you by AstroNOMZ!)

Pumpkins are my favorite!

Me at about age 2, sitting in a pumpkin patch hugging the pumpkin
This is how I felt about pumpkins when I was 2.

I feel the same way now!

So when I came across this recipe on the AstroNOMZ blog for a pumpkin tofu scramble, I had to try it!

(Yes, there is really an outer-space themed vegan food blog.)

It was absolutely delicious! The only change I made was to add about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar at the end. I also added a lot of hot sauce, and would probably just cook it with more heat next time rather than adding hot sauce at the end. I used kale, since that’s what I had on hand. Eric used arugula in the original, which would probably have made it even better.

I made the spice blend with my mortar and pestle.
Small grey-and-white speckled mortar and pestle

I’d like to take a moment to show you my mortar and pestle some more, because…I just really love it. Please indulge me.
Same small grey-and-white mortar and pestle from a slightly different angle

The spice blend for this recipe is rather unconventional, but Eric said to trust him and I’m glad I did!
Same mortar and pestle, viewed from above so reddish spice blend can be seen inside it

And this is what my scramble looked like when it was done…
Pumpkin tofu scramble in pan with spoon

I made this for breakfast, which was a delightful way to begin my day. Putting a little effort into my breakfast in the morning, instead of just eating leftovers or a granola bar, is something I’m always glad that I did. I also had plenty of leftovers, which meant I got to eat it again later!

Please go visit AstroNOMZ for the recipe for this delicious pumpkin tofu scramble!

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Pumpkin Tofu Scramble (brought to you by AstroNOMZ!)

  1. That looks great. I never would have thought about putting pumpkin in a scramble.

  2. choirqueer says:

    Me neither! All credit goes to zwingtip!

  3. zwingtip says:

    Ahh ❤ Yours is way prettier than mine. Apple cider vinegar sounds like it would make it super awesome.

    • choirqueer says:

      Haha, no way! Yours is way prettier. It has arugula!
      Holy cow it was so freaking good, dude… I would have made another one today, but I’m fresh out of tofu!

  4. Pingback: Smoothie Jazz: Now in “Classic” and “Pumpkin Patch”! | rainbow soup

  5. Pingback: Pumpkin Dreams: 11 Things I’d Make Right Now If I Had My Own Pumpkin Patch | rainbow soup

  6. yo mama says:

    I thought u were a guy

  7. Pingback: [VeganMoFo Day 18!] “Beef”abulous Stew! | rainbow soup

  8. Pingback: Pumpkin-Chickpea Scramble | rainbow soup

Leave a Reply

