Smoothie Jazz: Now in “Classic” and “Pumpkin Patch”!

I’ve been on this smoothie-for-breakfast kick recently.

This is very odd for me. I have nothing against smoothies in theory, you know, for other people…but for me, the idea of drinking my breakfast is downright unsettlin’. I’ve been pretty pumped up about eating solid food ever since I got teeth.

But I recently inherited an amazing blender, and I’ve been experimenting with the different things that can be done with a blender. After a few rounds of sauce and dressing and soup, I had an epiphany: I can put anything I want in this blender and it will totally liquefy!!

I wonder if this happens to everyone who gets a blender for the first time.

So I woke up one morning just a little bit hungry, as my “need to eat” survival instinct usually takes a couple hours of awakeliness to kick in, and as I lay in bed thinking about what my next move would be, my mind drifted to the blender. I started imagining what would happen if I put this thing or that thing in the blender…what it might taste like, what the different textures would do with each other, what colors would come out of different combinations…and then, next thing I knew, I was in the kitchen throwing stuff in my blender and laughing maniacally!

Lately, this has been my standard blend.

The Classic
I fill up a glass of soymilk about 2/3 full, so there will be room in the glass for the other ingredients when the smoothie is made. I pour that in the blender.
I add a big handful of chocolate chunks and another of peanuts.
I squeeze in some agave nectar.
I shave the skin off a hunk of gingerroot about half the size of my thumb. (My thumbs aren’t very big.) I throw that in there too.
Yesterday I decided to try adding a couple handfuls of kale, since apparently that’s what all the cool kids do. I must confess that heretofore I have felt no inclination whatsoever to drink a vegetable, but I was high on my little blender-epiphany and…what can I say, it made me want to do things I would not ordinarily do.
Brilliant! How could I have ever thought kale didn’t belong in a smoothie? For heaven’s sake!

Today, I decided to try something different. I had about a half-can of pumpkin left over from the pumpkin tofu scramble. Pumpkin is not well-suited to sitting around and waiting for you to use it. It wants you to eat it. So I threw it in the blender with my soymilk, a few pumpkin-friendly spices, and a handful of chocolate. My initial taste test told me it was pretty good, but it still needed something extra. It needed a little more…bite.

I got the wild idea to throw a clove of garlic in there. Ooooooh!

Then I put a couple handfuls of kale in, too. Ooooooh again!

This is the final recipe that resulted.

Pumpkin Patch Smoothie
soymilk (as much as you want)
1 cup pumpkin (my best guess for “half a can”)
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger
1/8 teaspoon allspice
pinch of nutmeg
agave nectar (as you wish)
handful of chocolate chunks
bonus ingredients:
1 clove garlic
a couple handfuls of kale or whatever greens you have on hand

I can’t even believe how delicious this thing is! And how totally not weird it is to be drinking my breakfast! (Okay, it’s still a little weird! I may not do this every day. But I’m not as creeped out by the idea as I was a week ago!)

Here’s a song for you to rock out to while you drink your smoothie.

How do you feel about drinking your breakfast?
What do you like to put in your smoothies?
How totally

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smoothie Jazz: Now in “Classic” and “Pumpkin Patch”!

  1. Rachel says:

    I love the idea of a pumpkin smoothie! I recently moved to AZ and it is still HOT…which is new to me. I keep seeing all the pumpkins and puree at the grocery store, but I’m not feeling soups, pies or the typical pumpkin fare. I smoothie would be perfect!

  2. choirqueer says:

    Someone else posted a recipe for pumpkin ice cream! Here it is: http://mollytanzer.com/2011/10/10/omg-pumpkin-pie-ice-cream/

Leave a Reply

