Curry Up Already!

VeganMoFo 2011

I was very eager to try Jenn’s Seitan Green Bean Curry, which she posted on the first day of VeganMoFo. It combines green beans (my favorite vegetable), seitan (which I just learned to make), and curry (which occupies its own space on my personal food pyramid, right near garlic)! What could be better?

What I did was pretty similar to Jenn’s recipe, though I changed a few things up. I left out the tomatoes (I’m a bit sensitive to tomatoes, though I love them dearly, so sometimes I use them and sometimes I avoid them). I doubled the garlic (Rule #1 of Cooking With Choirqueer). I also added a full tablespoon of curry powder, and at the end I added the juice of half a lemon. It didn’t need any salt, though next time I might add some more heat. I used quite a bit of cayenne, and the curry powder too, but usually cayenne just doesn’t kick hard enough for me. I like my food really hot.

Bowl of curried green beans, seitan, and cashews

YUM.

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Curry Up Already!

  1. Jenn says:

    Your version looks great! Can’t go wrong with lots of extra garlic!

  2. Amanda says:

    Isn’t making your own seitan wonderful? I was so surprised how simple, cheap and tasty it was!! 🙂 You should try cooking it in a crock pot sometime, it really absorbs whatever broth or sauce flavor you use!

  3. Cashews in curries and rice dishes are the best! It’s been too long since I’ve made something like this!

Leave a Reply

