Choirqueer Eats Lunch

VeganMoFo 2011

We’re now two weeks into VeganMoFo (the Vegan Month of Food)!. It’s middle-time!

Middles are pretty excellent, actually.

Here is what Jimmy Eat World has to say about the middle.

And here is what Choirqueer Eats World has to say about the middle: yay, lunchtime!

Lunch is often a good time for a simple meal. But that doesn’t mean it should be boring! Here are some of the simple things I like to do for lunch.

Sandwich
My favorite sandwich is prepared like so: I lightly toast two slices of bread (usually rye or sourdough) — or, if I’m not in the mood for toast, I leave them fluffy. I spread hummus on both slices, and by “spread” I really mean “heap”. I slip in a few slices of Tofurky and a handful of arugula on top of that, then flip my sandwich shut and voila!

Spaghetti
I love spaghetti! I love all different kinds of pasta, but for some reason I always come back to plain old simple spaghetti noodles. I like to melt in some soy butter and top with nutritional yeast (full of protein and B-vitamins!), garlic and onion powder, white wine vinegar, and black pepper.

Just Add Rice
One of the advantages to cooking delicious food all the time is that I can rely on a steady supply of already-cooked food just waiting for me to eat it! Most of the foods I cook go very well with rice, so I try to always keep a container of cooked rice in my fridge so I can heat that up quickly to extend how long I can continue eating my leftovers. Brown basmati rice is my absolute favorite, and I buy huge quantities of it from the bulk bins at Whole Foods. In fact, I really never buy any other kind of rice, because everything I could possibly want or need from rice is right there in my brown basmati!

Tofurky Slices
Sometimes I’m just too busy or lazy to put any effort at all into making lunch. When that happens, I can always turn to good ol’ Tofurky. I really like the flavor and texture of this brand, and to me it doesn’t really feel like I’m eating meat, but I have not eaten meat in so long that I don’t really even remember what eating meat was like. So if you like Tofurky, and you like it because it reminds you of the things you liked about eating meat without actually being an animal, great! I’m totally in favor of that. I like Tofurky because it’s delicious, full of protein, and easy to grab and eat. It comes in a variety of different flavors; my favorite is the “peppered” kind.

Salad
I personally don’t eat a lot of salad. I find that getting enough things in the salad that I really feel satisfied after eating it is not a cost-effective way to do a meal. However, there are lots of great ways to do salad if you’re a lighter eater than I am! If I do eat salad, I usually use spinach or a mix of dark greens which have more nutritional content than lettuce, and I’ll add some nuts or seeds and perhaps a handful of croutons to that. If anyone has some good salad tips to share, feel free to post them in the comments!

How about you? What are some of your favorite lunch choices?

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Choirqueer Eats Lunch

  1. Sandwiches! I do a miso baked tofu sandwich that I love. Usually eaten with the fruit o’ the season.

    • choirqueer says:

      Oh yum! How do you do your miso-baking? I want to start doing more tofu-baking now that it’s getting cool and I finally have an oven that can handle it.

  2. jessy says:

    i’m eating brown rice pasta with marinara and nooch right now at my desk. i love sketties for lunch!

    salads are another favorite of mine – and millet bowls topped with veggies and tahini sauce. so yum!

    for my salads i love making a big batch of blackened tofu cubes, then i shred up a ton of carrots, dice a large cucumber & halve a bunch of cherry tomatoes. this way i have a lot of toppings for multiple salads. oh yeah, i top the salads with fake-un bits, the veggies ‘n tofu and make up a bunch of veganaised based ranch dressing to take on the side to drizzle on top later. it’s one of my favorite salads – i do spend some time making the fixings, but it’s worth it ’cause i make enough to have salad for a few days. w00t!

  3. Juliana says:

    I like adding chickpeas or edamame to green salads (I like spinach or spring mix best). Sometimes I’ll add carrots or fruit. One of my favorite salads to make is with spinach, edamame, avocado, and mango. Not the cheapest, but tasty, and a nice quick meal for hot weather. Pasta salads are also fun– pasta, veggies, black beans, avocado again if possible (adds creaminess without using veganaise or whatever, which I don’t like anyway), maybe a little olive oil and red wine vinegar. Great for taking to work! If you’re using frozen veggies, they can be added to hot pasta to make a cold pasta salad faster. Salads are great for those who tend to use the “throw stuff together and see what happens” method of cooking, which I often prefer, particularly on a busy weeknight.

  4. celyn says:

    Bagels with veggie cream cheeze! And I don’t understand how people can eat spaghetti noodles. I cannot get them on my fork properly.

    • choirqueer says:

      Twirl it!

      Oh!! I can’t believe I forgot bagels. I like mine toasted with hummus. When I was in massage school there was a bagel shop just up the block and I got lunch there allllll the time.

Leave a Reply

