Delicious Food At Pendle Hill

VeganMoFo 2011

Happy Saturday! This weekend I am in a workshop at Pendle Hill, the Quaker retreat center where I lived for most of the last year. I loved living there last year, but the one thing I really missed was being able to cook my own food!

Pendle Hill has a food philosophy which for the most part is well-suited for a vegan diet. They do serve meat and animal products quite a bit, but the meals always include a vegan option, as well as many varied vegetable choices from local farms. Many of the vegetables served at Pendle Hill even come from their own garden.

I arrived in time for dinner last night, so I got to eat a lovely meal of dal and roasted root vegetables with a light salad. I brought my own breakfast, since I knew I wouldn’t get up in time to go down to the dining room for breakfast. Lunch was soup and salad, the usual Saturday afternoon fare, featuring a colorful spectrum of fresh vegetables and homemade dressing and my favorite Pendle Hill soup: caldo verde, which is a soup made of fresh greens. Dinner was also magnificent: a vegan paella with tempeh and tofu and soy-sausage and mushrooms over rice, and green beans (my favorite vegetable!)

I can’t say enough about how great the food at Pendle Hill is! Although I miss my own food when I’m there, I am always so grateful for the hard work and the mindfulness that go into the meals prepared there. Although their food philosophy is not exactly the same as mine, I love that they have one, and I know that it inspires people who eat at Pendle Hill to think about the foods they eat and where those foods come from, which is important and hopefully leads to more people considering veganism.

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Delicious Food At Pendle Hill

  1. Sharon Gunther says:

    working on that cookbook you talked about?
    I hope so!

    I love the hat you crocheted for me, it’s my favorite!

  2. Luciana says:

    Those meals sound do sound lovely!

Leave a Reply

