A New Week, A New Turnip

VeganMoFo 2011

It’s a quiet night at Chez Choirqueer. I got home late from my rehearsal with my a cappella group, Project Philly, and then I recorded a little video of a song I wrote a few months ago, as a birthday gift for a friend.

It’s now the 16th day of VeganMoFo, and true to my goal, I have indeed posted every single day and also commented on 5 other VeganMoFo bloggers’ posts each day.

I am making turnip soup again, the same as last week’s from Vegan Soul Kitchen. This week I will try it with mustard greens, a luscious feisty treat to match the bitiness of the turnips. I have the turnips roasting in the oven now with a couple juicy shallots. I couldn’t resist slipping a chunk of raw turnip out of the mixing bowl, savoring the sting of its natural kick against my tastebuds before sending the rest off on a baking tray to Oven-Land. They will roast for an hour before I add them to the broth with the lightly-sauteed mustard greens. As my apartment fills with the aroma of the shallots releasing themselves to the heat of the oven, I sit nearby, drinking a glass of soy milk and thinking about what I might cook this coming week, preparing a shopping list to bring to the grocery store with me.

There will be some exciting surprises this week, so stay tuned!

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

