I Dip, You Dip, We Dip

Today I decided to play the throw-stuff-in-my-blender game, with the general idea of coming up with something that would incorporate some of the urad beans (black beluga lentils) that I accidentally cooked last week, and that I could dunk some crackers in. This is what came out!

Urad Dip
2 cups cooked urad beans
1/2 cup olive oil
juice of 1-2 lemons
3 large cloves garlic
nutritional yeast (I used 1/4 cup, but I think that was too much)
1/4 cup water
1/2 tsp miso
1/2 tsp agave nectar (optional)

Put the beans, olive oil, and garlic in your blender or food processor. Blend. Add the lemon juice. Blend some more. Add the miso, nutritional yeast, and agave. Add the water a little bit at a time, blending until your dip reaches the desired texture. Let chill in the refrigerator. YUM.

I like to stick crunchy things in my dip – crackers, raw carrots, broccoli – or even just my fingers. What do you like to dip?

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Dip, You Dip, We Dip

  1. amara says:

    I like to dip my dance partner 😛

Leave a Reply

