Fried’n’Saucy Dinner Treats

Today was a day of orange foods!

Unlike your average orange foods, however, all my orange foods today were vegan, wholesome, and delicious!

This morning I went over to my friend Kody’s house for lunch. Kody is also vegan, and when I arrived, he had prepared a delicious feast for us: tofu scramble, sweet potato hash browns, and peach cobbler! So much orange! So much goodness!

This evening, I made my own little orange feast: black-eyed pea fritters with homemade hot sauce, fresh out of Vegan Soul Kitchen!

The fritters were pretty easy to make. I soaked the peas overnight and threw them in my wee food processor with peanuts, diced onion, apple cider vinegar, thyme, cayenne, chipotle powder, and water. Next time, I will probably add some more flavors and some nutritional yeast to the fritters, and maybe throw in some other veggies. (The recipe recommends bell peppers, but I hate bell peppers.) I refrigerated this batter for an hour and then fried it in tablespoonfuls, in a pan of olive oil. (I didn’t quite deep-fry, since I didn’t even have enough oil to deep-fry, but I just flipped the fritters over when they were cooked on one side, and that fried them plenty.)

For the sauce, I sauteed half an onion, two cloves of garlic, 1/2 cup diced tomato, a minced jalapeño, cumin, and cayenne in olive oil, then tossed that all in my blender with some some salt and pepper. It came out gloriously fiery and smooth. Amazing!

The recipes for the fritters and hot sauce can be found in their entirety in Vegan Soul Kitchen!

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fried’n’Saucy Dinner Treats

  1. phoenix says:

    Oh, yum! That looks amazing! I’ve wanted to make chickpea fritters like forever… Now you’ve made me really hungry. 😉

  2. Those fritters look fantastic! It looks like your method of “frying” worked just fine, which is nice. I’m scared of deep frying.

    • choirqueer says:

      I just couldn’t imagine using that much oil! The amount of oil I would have needed to deep-fry would have been more expensive than all the other ingredients combined! They came out so well this way.

Leave a Reply

