Pumpkin Dreams: 11 Things I’d Make Right Now If I Had My Own Pumpkin Patch

VeganMoFo 2011

I bought the last two cans of pumpkin at the grocery store today.

They were really hard to find, too. They were buried deep in a bottom shelf in the baking ingredients aisle. I spent a fair amount of time hunting for them.

When I got the the register, the cashier asked me if I’d found everything I needed today, and I said “Yes, but I should tell you, I nabbed your last 2 cans of pumpkin, so I hope you’re restocking soon!”

The cashier laughed. “Do you need more? I can have someone check in the back.”

“Oh, no,” I said. “Two is all I need this week.”

Are you sure?” the cashier asked me.

Oh, how I wish now that I’d asked them to go check in the back and get me a whole crate!

Paging through the RandoMoFo feed, I came across more and more pumpkin recipes, one after another. All of a sudden the number of pumpkin recipes in my file had more than doubled. Why, oh why did I not buy more pumpkin today?

Instead, I present to you 11 recipes that I would like to make right now, if I had all the pumpkin in the world and a devoted pumpkin-eating crew to help me eat them.

1. Molly Tanzer’s Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream
2. The award-winning Pumpkin Donuts from Passing Daisies
3. Naked Veg Lunch’s Pumpkin Curry, which I would actually be making right now if I hadn’t already eaten dinner
4. Joyful Girl’s Pumpkin Baked Ziti
5. Welcoming Fall Tofu from AstroNOMZ, the spectacular pumpkin tofu scramble which I made last week
6. Pumpkin Streusel Coffee Cake from Peas & Thank You
7. Rabbit Food Blog’s Pumpkin Hummus, which actually sounds a little on the weird side even to me, but it has pumpkin and it has hummus and so I have to try it.
8.
Mo’s Pumpkin & Porcini Risotto
9. Vegan Culinary Crusade’s Pumpkin Pudding
10. Greens-Filled Pasta with Pumpkin Sauce from VegWeb
11. And of course, the thing I’m actually going to make: Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Muffins

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pumpkin Dreams: 11 Things I’d Make Right Now If I Had My Own Pumpkin Patch

  1. Liz K. says:

    In a pinch you can use pureed butternut squash which you can often find in the frozen section. SImilar in taste and texture.

  2. karencee says:

    I’m definitely going to need to try that Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream recipe. There was an ice cream place near where I used to live that had Pumpkin Pie Ice Cream in the fall and it was one of the yummiest things I’ve ever eaten. For this non-vegan who needs a little educating, is soy creamer basically the non-dairy equivalent of cream?

    • choirqueer says:

      I think so. I don’t really know dairy products well, but I would assume it’s like the cream you’d put in your coffee?

  3. Kaitlin says:

    Pumpkin is almost completely out of stock in Michigan! There’s allegedly been a shortage this year and I’m down to my last can of sub-par generic brand pumpkin.

    Clearly next year I need to start a pumpkin patch too.

  4. Karhma Dent says:

    I always have a hard time finding non-pie-seasoned pumpkin, even in season. I generally sub out butternut, especially b/c I’ve had a ton of it in puree form due to baby food & coupons/sales=very cheap squash puree. 🙂

  5. Lola says:

    My mother is always looking for pumpkin recipes, since she does have a pumpkin patch! So I sent her a link to your blog post. I have to admit though, that the pumpkin hummus does sound weird.

  6. amara says:

    Yes, butternut squash puree is easy to make and subs well. I recently bought a huge (4 or 5 lb?) squash for €2.50. Do it and save money! That is a tasty looking list there, and I’ve got to use up some of my puree now…

  7. Eric says:

    The pumpkin hummus was awesome! I added a little extra pumpkin and a couple dashes of nutmeg, and then proceeded to stuff my face!
    -Eric

  8. Emily says:

    After pumpkin cinnamon rolls (!!!), a failed pumpkin smoothie, VWAV pumpkin waffles, and pumpkin oatmeal this morning I have finally devoured the 30 oz jar I bought a few weeks ago.
    I am sad because every single thing on that list sounds delectable and I am pumpkin-less.

Leave a Reply

