Fettuccine Alfredo: Take 1!

A few weeks ago, I was challenged by a friend to come up with a vegan recipe for fettuccine alfredo.

Well, that’s not exactly true. My friend, who is lactose intolerant, was bemoaning the unavailability of vegan fettuccine alfredo, and I, though not a huge fan of the dish, am a huge fan of my friends being able to eat vegan foods that they like. So I told him I would come up with a recipe.

My friend’s dad remarked that he did not think this could be possible.

Well, now it’s a dare. So now I have to do it.

It will need some tweaking next time, but here is what resulted.

Fettuccine Alfredo
fettuccine noodles (I used spinach noodles)
3 Tbsp soy margarine (I used Earth Balance)
1 small onion or 1/2 large onion, diced
5 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp each: sage, thyme, black pepper
2 1/2 cups soy milk
4 Tbsp nutritional yeast
3-4 Tbsp flour
2-3 Tbsp white wine vinegar
dash of Bragg’s liquid aminos or soy sauce
salt to taste

I melted the soy butter over medium heat in a saucepan. I added the onion and let it cook till it started to brown, then added the garlic. I mortar-and-pestled my spices, then added them and let them cook for a bit. I then added the soy milk, stirred that together with the onion and garlic, and then added the flour and nutritional yeast, one tablespoonful of each at a time. (That may have been a mistake. The correct order of operations may be to put the flour and yeast in before the soy milk. I will get back to you on that.)

At this point, the sauce needed to be stirred constantly and for a long time. I made the mistake of forgetting to put on my ankle brace before beginning this project, and by the time it became apparent that this sauce couldn’t be left alone at all, I could no longer keep my weight on the foot.

So, perhaps this concoction is even more impressive, since I made it while standing on one foot

Eventually, when I had gotten all the lumps out, I added the white wine vinegar and Bragg’s. I poured the sauce over the cooked noodles. I added some roasted rosemary tofu, which I made from a recipe from Vegan Soul Kitchen, but I definitely want to play around with that recipe a bit more before I’ll feel like I really have a roasted tofu recipe that I want to share. (If you want to roast yourself some tofu, chop it into chunks, and marinate it in olive oil, lemon juice or vinegar, and whatever spices you’d like to add. Marinating means you let it soak in the marinade for at least a couple hours and ideally overnight. Otherwise it is just coating, and the #1 reason I believe that people think they don’t like tofu is because of wimpy-ass marination.)

It came out pretty well. But next time will be even better!

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fettuccine Alfredo: Take 1!

  1. Liz K. says:

    Yes, when making a sauce like this you want to add the thickening agent, flour, to the fat, earth ballance, and let it cook a litttle and then add the liquid, soy milk. I like to add about 1/2 cup of the liquid and whisk it in first then the remainder. Helps with the antil lumping action.

    Good for you for helping a friend.

    • choirqueer says:

      Yes, thanks. πŸ™‚ It’s been so long since I’ve used flour. I usually use nutritional yeast, which doesn’t clump like that at all.

  2. phoenix says:

    Cooking while stanbding on one foot? I know what this means, and I think you’re a superhero. Also, people who think that tofu is boring are clearly doing it wrong.

    • choirqueer says:

      Yeah…like, literally doing it wrong! Any recipe that tells you that you can get away with marinating it for “up to an hour” is WRONG. It’s just…plain…wrong! Wrong I say!

  3. Cara says:

    I love how you wanted your friend to be happy with eating *good* vegan food AND how you took it as a dare πŸ™‚ You really are a good friend to have… Makes me now wanna think of foods to “dare” you to make for me.

    • choirqueer says:

      Go for it! I’ll do my best. If it involves baking though, don’t hold your breath. I’m great at cooking but baking is a new sport for me!

  4. Pingback: Behind The Scenes | rainbow soup

Leave a Reply

