Behind The Scenes

Photobucket

VeganMoFo is almost over, but my love of cooking and my need to eat several times a day will never go away as long as I’m alive!

This adventure in daily food blogging has inspired me to try a lot of new things in the kitchen. I’ve received some interesting food challenges from friends (and welcome more of them!) I’ve acquired a couple new cookbooks, expanding my repertoire considerably as I’ve ventured into the worlds of soul food and baked goods.

Here are some of the recipes I’m currently working on:
Pumpkin Noodle Bake! Inspired by the pumpkin ziti from the exceptional cookbook Veganomicon, I’ve been working on making it my own by adding a spicy twist.
Face Melt Seitan! I didn’t really mean to call it that, but it uses at least 3 different infusions of hot pepper and that is what it does. It’s just about ready to share.
Fettuccine Alfredo! You saw the results of my first adventure with this concoction last week. I’m planning to keep working on it, of course!
Dal Makhni! I’m on a perennial quest to come up with a perfect vegan recreation of this mouthwatering Indian favorite. It’s been on the back burner, so to speak, while I’ve been trying new things…but I won’t stop till I get that one down!
Sweet Seitan! Another challenge from a friend, this time I’m trying to come up with a seitan recipe that is sweet, but still palatable. I was hoping I might post about that tonight…but, well, let’s just say only one of those two criteria were met, and I’ll leave you to guess which one.

One question I’ve been asked quite a bit is: am I going to continue blogging after VeganMoFo? Yes, absolutely! I had just started this blog when VeganMoFo began and I’m very excited to continue sharing and writing and connecting this way. My posts will not all be about food after this, but since (as you may have noticed) I do really like food and I do spend quite a lot of time eating and/or making food, you can be sure that there will be plenty of posts about the delicious vegan food that I eat.

If you haven’t entered the Vegan Soul Kitchen giveaway yet, there’s still time! That giveaway will be open until noon Eastern on Saturday, October 26!

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Behind The Scenes

  1. JohnP says:

    These projects sound great — and I will be checking back to see what you come up with. The Face Melt Seitan makes me think of Nashville’s so-not-vegan specialty: hot chicken (southern fried chicken, coated, after frying, with a paste made of lard, cayenne, and secret things, served on spongy white bread with mayo and pickles). I could use some nuclear vegan food!

Leave a Reply

