Choirqueer’s Coconut Curry Caramel Corn!

Photobucket

Happy Halloween! Blessed Samhain! Happy New Year! Trick or treat!

Today is the last day of VeganMoFo, and I wanted to celebrate by sharing a recipe I’ve been gleefully playing with for a little while now. It’s finally ready for you!

I can’t exactly take the credit for this. This is my slightly remixed version of a recipe by one of my vegan food blog heroes, Sarah Matheny at Peas and Thank You. Please check out Sarah’s original recipe for Coconut Curry Caramel Corn and all her other vast and sundry vegan treats of great deliciousness, most of which are geared to appeal to people with small children.

In order to make caramel corn, you first have to make some popcorn. I just learned how to do this this week. I’ve been so afraid to try it because, what if I burn it? what if I make a huge mess? what if I blow up my kitchen and the popcorn gods swoop down and smite me with their mighty Kernels of Justice? But this month of nonstop food experimenting has bolstered my courage! So I decided to give it a try.

I found this recipe and followed it to the letter.

I put 3 tablespoons of oil in a pot and set it to medium heat.

I prepped 1/3 cup of popcorn kernels and set it aside.

I put 4 kernels in the pot. Then I put the lid on the pot and waited for those kernels to pop.

As soon as they popped, I poured the 1/3 cup of kernels in, closed the lid right up, and removed the pot from the heat. I counted 30 seconds aloud (while dancing around the kitchen, of course…gotta keep those kernels moving!). Then I put the pot back on the burner.

As the recipe predicted, the corn started popping very soon, and very quickly, all at once. This pot turned to be exactly the right size!

Once the popping slowed down, I removed the pot from the heat, but held the lid on until the popping had stopped completely. Then I poured the popcorn into my bowl.

I gave the pot a quick wipe-down to make sure there were no stray kernels in there that would burn, then started making the caramel sauce.

You’ll notice my recipe is a little different from the Peas and Thank You recipe. That’s because I was missing a few ingredients, so I had to improvise. It still came out amazing. Oh god. Amazing.

I melted 3 tablespoons soy margarine together with 1 tablespoon sesame oil.

I then turned off the heat. I actually did this by accident, but it made the caramel perfect, unlike my previous burnt attempts! With the heat off, I added 1/2 cup brown sugar (I used raw turbinado sugar), 2 tablespoons maple syrup, 1 generous teaspoon curry powder, and a pinch of salt. I stirred it together and then put the heat back on medium.

I continued to stir constantly for about 2-3 minutes. When I noticed it starting to stick to the edges of the pot, I quickly added a tablespoon of coconut milk, stirred it in thoroughly, then removed it from the heat. I continue to stir a little while longer to keep it moving while it cooled, so that it wouldn’t harden.

Then I dumped it all over the popcorn, using the spoon to stir the popcorn. I had to do this for a few minutes to make sure all the popcorn was coated evenly, but it was soooooo worth the extra effort!

It’s a good thing it is the last day of VeganMoFo. Under normal circumstances, there is no way I would have stepped away from that bowl long enough to post about it. So, now you can make some, too…and now, please excuse me, I have a whole bowl of popcorn waiting for me to devour it. Happy Halloween indeed!

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2011 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Choirqueer’s Coconut Curry Caramel Corn!

  1. Cara says:

    Oh goodness me, you are right, this DOES sound good! A blend of sweet and salty–the perfect combo!! I’m impressed by your capabilities to have enough leftover to take a pic of it ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • choirqueer says:

      It was the last day of VeganMoFo, so I told myself I wasn’t allowed to touch the popcorn until I’d posted. Sticky fingers and computers don’t mix! But oh man that was hard.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    It uses curry powder?! Oh, my. It does sound delicious.

    (And yes, you *are* a matchmaker! Matchmakers unite! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. *groan*
    This totally looks like caramel corn crack. I’m afraid to try it, it looks soooo good!

  4. phoenix says:

    OMGs. I would never have tried such a combination, but you make it sound awesome. I might make some for my birthday party and not tell anyone what’s in it!

  5. Luciana says:

    How am I just seeing this? It would have been hard for me to control myself before digging in, too.

  6. Pingback: [VeganMoFo Day 17!] What does a vegan zombie eat? | rainbow soup

Leave a Reply

