Earthy Winter Evening Soup

I made this tasty soup to bring some cheer to a rather bleh day.

I melted 2 tablespoons of Earth Balance soy butter in a large pot. I chopped up a large onion, a bunch of scallions, and a lot of garlic (maybe 8-10 cloves?), and sauteed them in the butter, adding them in one at a time in the order listed for optimal cooking times. I chopped two medium-sized potatoes into bite-sized chunks and added them to the pot. I added a cup of urad lentils (also called beluga lentils), a cup of black quinoa, 6 cups of veg broth, about half a can of coconut milk, and a tablespoon each of sage and cumin.. I brought the soup to a boil, then covered it and let it simmer for 30 minutes. I then added about 3/4 cup nutritional yeast, the juice from 2 lemons (maybe about 1/4 cup), and some Bragg’s and some liquid smoke to taste.

It cheered me up a lot. The earthy flavors of the potatoes, lentils, and quinoa worked really well together.

This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Earthy Winter Evening Soup

  1. Suzanne says:

    Do you blend it or just eat it home-style? Inquiring minds, etc!

    • choirqueer says:

      I did this one home-style. It worked better for this soup to cook everything together at once, rather than cooking the blendables first and then adding the not-for-blending ingredients, and the different textures work well together. I’ve done a similar soup with potatoes and kale and sprouted lentils, which I blended before adding the kale and lentils, and that was really nice too.

Leave a Reply

