Creamy Mushroom Kale Soup

I was under budget when I did my grocery shopping this week, which meant I got to treat myself to fresh, locally grown mushrooms! Once I got home with them, though, I had to ponder quite a bit to decide what to do with them. Mushrooms are expensive, so I don’t get them that often! I decided to try my hand at a cream of mushroom soup. I looked at a couple recipes, and then, as usual, threw them aside and just did it my own way anyway. The result was really, really good! So, I’m sharing it with you!

Creamy Mushroom Kale Soup

Put ¾ cup cashews and ½ cup walnuts in a bowl of water while you start your soup, so they’ll be ready for you when you’re ready for them.

4 tbsp soy margarine
1 large onion, chopped
6 cloves garlic, minced (I used BIG cloves)
1-2lbs mushrooms, sliced or coarsely chopped (I used cremini, shiitake are more expensive but if you’ve got ‘em, use ‘em!)
4 cups veg broth
1 head kale, chopped (I used red kale)
½ cup parsley, chopped (that’s how much I happened to have in the fridge, use whatever amount you like)
¼ cup red wine vinegar
¼ cup nutritional yeast
Herbs – see below

Melt soy margarine in your favorite soup pot. Saute the onions first, then add the garlic, and then the mushrooms. Cook until the mushrooms have lost their moisture, stirring frequently so the garlic does not burn. You can check by tasting to see if the mushrooms have reached a texture that you would like to put in your mouth. If they’re still kinda slimy, keep cooking!

When you’re pretty sure your mushrooms are just about done, drain your nuts and then put them in the blender with a fresh cup of water. This will make your cream. Don’t ditch your blender yet, though…you’ll need it in a few minutes!

Add the cream to the pot, along with your veg broth. Now it’s herb time, are you ready? Here’s the herb blend I used (approximately):

1 tbsp tarragon
2 tsp thyme
2 tsp rosemary
1 tsp marjoram
1 tsp mustard powder
1 tsp sage
1 tsp black pepper
½ tsp chipotle pepper

Obviously, don’t add the pepper if you don’t like your soup spicy!

Now it’s back to the blender. If you want chunks of mushroom in your soup (I do!), put about ½ to ⅔ of the soup in the blender. If you do not want chunks of mushroom in your soup, put all of it in. Blend until smooth, then pour it back into the pot.

Put the pot back on the burner and put the heat on medium-low. Add the kale. If you like the chewy stems in your soup, put them in. If not, just use the leaves. If you’re using red kale, your soup will start to turn pink now! Yay! Add the parsley and stir well so all the leaves are well-mixed into the soup and can cook in nicely. Add red wine vinegar and nutritional yeast.

Serve with a nice crusty bread or focaccia.

Bowl of Creamy Mushroom Kale Soup

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Creamy Mushroom Kale Soup

  1. athen penson says:

    I was wondering… Do you like to use olive oil ? We eat more with a Greek influence (Mediterranean diet) and I do not really use soy margarine… what do you think of Olive oil ?

    • choirqueer says:

      Olive oil should work fine. Just be careful because it heats up more quickly than the margarine, so your food would burn more quickly (especially the garlic), and you’ll probably want to add salt if you do this. I like to use soy margarine because it gives the food a fuller flavor, but I think it’ll be a subtle enough difference that it shouldn’t dramatically affect the quality of the soup.

      You might like to add some lemon juice to your soup too, especially if you like your food with a Greek influence! Add it at the end for best results. 🙂

  2. Pingback: [VeganMoFo Day 10!] Ode to My Favorite Snack Foods! | rainbow soup

Leave a Reply

