Rock Star Brownies

I had a really nice day today, and then at the end of the day I thought, “Gosh, what could make this day even better? Oh, I know, BROWNIES!!” I was going to use a recipe, really I was, but then I didn’t have enough of the right ingredients, and my creativity got the better of me, and…oh man, I totally won the brownie jackpot with this one. Fortunately, I have this sweet blog now, so I can write down my recipe and remember it for next time. And you can have some brownies, too!

Please, please make these brownies, if you like brownies at all. You totally deserve them.

1 1/3 cup flour (I used white whole wheat)
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/3 cup maple syrup
1/2 cup cinnamon apple sauce (or use plain applesauce and add cinnamon)
1/4 cup soy milk
1/3 cup canola oil
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
2/3 cup chocolate chips plus extra to sprinkle on top

Preheat oven to 350F. Prep an 8×8 pan — I prefer not to grease my baked goods, so I just put a sheet of aluminum foil in the pan.

Combine dry ingredients (flour through salt). Add wet ingredients (maple syrup through vanilla) and stir until well-mixed. Add walnuts and chips. Bake for 30-35 minutes — mine actually took 38 minutes, but I am pretty sure my oven doesn’t get as hot as it says it does, so keep watch. When you can stick a fork or toothpick in and it comes out clean, they are done. TRY to let them cool before you eat them, but if you can’t wait, it’s perfectly understandable.

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rock Star Brownies

  1. Suzanne says:

    I want to eeeeaaaaaaaaaaaattttttt all of your brownies! OM NOM NOM!

    My devious little mind tells me they’d also be delicious if you substituted cardamom for cinnamon. Oh, drooling now…

  2. luminant says:

    Oooooooo nurmy lurvle brownies! I just might have to make these with the Splenda brown sugar style I have… and nutmeg@! Loads of hugs and thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

