Fabulous Fabeku-Style Miso Soup

A few weeks ago, the ever-amazingly fabulous Fabeku Fatunmise posted on FB about miso soup. He was so excited about it that I absolutely had to try it. It’s SO GOOD!!

This was the recipe Fabeku originally shared with me…

and this is what I did with it!

4 cups veg broth
1 cup sliced mushrooms (I had a bunch of portobello and cremini left over from making Portobello Stroganoff last weekend)
1/4 cup red miso (you can use whatever kind of miso you like)
2-3 tablespoons soy sauce or Bragg’s liquid aminos
1/2 cup firm tofu, diced
several handfuls baby spinach
1/3 cup nutritional yeast
3 green onions, sliced into little rounds
lime juice

I brought the veg broth to a boil, then added the mushrooms and reduced the heat to low. I combined the miso and Bragg’s in a separate bowl, then added the mixture to the pot. (This makes the miso liquid-y enough that it will dissolve; otherwise you’ll end up with weird salty lump soup instead of miso soup.) I added the tofu and let the soup simmer for a few minutes while I chopped the onions. Then I added the spinach and nutritional yeast, stirring it all together to make a nice, slightly golden-colored soup. I then turned off the heat and sprinkled the onions over the soup.

I like to eat my miso soup with rice, so I had a bowl of my favorite — brown basmati — ready for me to pour soup on top of it. I also really like to add lime juice to my miso soup, to make it a little sweeter and tangier, so I highly recommend that you try that. I often add ginger, too, though I didn’t add it to this pot. If you do, try about 1/4 – 1/2 teaspoon of powdered ginger to see if you like that, then add more if you really like it.

Happy souping!

This entry was posted in food, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fabulous Fabeku-Style Miso Soup

  1. Pingback: [VeganMoFo Day 2!] Miso-Tahini Soup | rainbow soup

Leave a Reply

