Chocolate Chip Coconut Pecan Cookies!

I am SO excited to share this recipe with you. I got the idea about a week ago, as I was contemplating what to bake for choir practice. It’s become a tradition that I bring some sort of delicious vegan baked treat to choir practice, which is fabulous because it means I also get to practice baking, and I have to say, I’m getting pretty good at it. I think my fellow singers would agree.

So I was thinking, okay, what would make an amazing cookies? Chocolate chips. Coconut. Maybe some nuts. I started Googling recipes, and came across . That recipe is for cookies with macadamia nuts, which I did not have. But I did have plenty of pecans! Oooh, pecans. Ooooh I love pecans. I knew this was going to be amazing before I even got started. It’s pretty hard to go wrong with chocolate chips, coconut, and pecans, unless you happen to hate one of those ingredients.

The first time I tried the recipe, it came out reaaaaaaaaaaally well, but I felt like there were a few modifications that would make it just a bit more perfect (if you can even imagine that), so with the author’s permission, I will share with you my version of this magical cookie recipe.

IMPORTANT: the magic ingredient in this recipe is the coconut oil. This is an expensive ingredient. If it’s feasible for you to do so, you may want to buy this one in bulk, because once you discover how great it is, you may want to use it often. This is the thing that makes the difference between “wow, these are great cookies” and “THIS IS THE HAPPIEST DAY OF MY MOUTH’S ENTIRE LIFE!!!!”

So, without further ado…

Chocolate Chip Coconut Pecan Cookies
makes about 40-45 ping-pong ball sized cookies; you can make them bigger if you don’t want that many cookies!

2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 to 1 full tsp cinnamon (depending on whether you like cinnamon, or LIKE-like cinnamon)

2/3 cup brown sugar (ideally dark, but light will do)
2/3 cup white sugar
1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp almond extract (or just add another 1/2 tsp vanilla extract if you don’t have almond)
4 Tbsp coconut oil
6 Tbsp canola oil
2 Tbsp cornstarch or arrowroot powder (the original uses flax seed; I dislike the texture of flax seed so I avoid it, but some people love it, so if you prefer it, use it!)
6 Tbsp unsweetened coconut milk (I don’t believe in using the “lite” or “low-fat” stuff, but whatever floats your boat!)

3/4 cup chocolate chips
3/4 cup shredded, unsweetened coconut
3/4 cup pecans (you really can use any nuts you like)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
Prep your baking trays now — this is a messy-hands recipe! Lay a sheet of parchment paper or aluminum foil on your trays.
Mix or sift the flour, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon in one bowl.
In a separate bowl, combine the sugars, oils, cornstarch or arrowroot, extracts, and coconut milk. If your coconut oil is in a liquid form, it will just mix in smoothly. If it’s still kinda solid, there will probably still be some lumps. Don’t worry if there are lumps! I tried it both ways and it’s not a problem! The lumps will melt in the oven. Just try to distribute them evenly.
Combine the ingredients from those two bowls to make your dough.
For the next step, I found it worked best to get a third bowl for the coconut, chips, and nuts, then mix them together in that bowl, and THEN add them to the dough. If you’re running out of bowls, you can just put them directly into the bowl with the dough. Use your hands to mix everything together really well, so all your cookies will have some of everything in them!
Now you want to make little balls out of your dough. The trick is to make sure you have enough dough, and enough STUFF, in each ball, that you get nice cookies that won’t fall apart, so if you’ve mixed your ingredients together really well, you’ll have an easier time with this part. I made mine about the size of ping-pong balls, which seemed to be the perfect size for cookies that you just stick in your mouth and go OH MY GOD THIS IS SO GREAT!! and then eat five more without a second thought, but if you like your cookies bigger, go for it.
Bake for about 12-15 minutes, then let cool before serving. Try to wait till they’re cool before you eat them! (It’s hard, I know!)

If you try this recipe, or any others on my blog, I’d love to hear about it! And as always, feel free to share and/or adapt any recipe you see here. More vegan food in the world! More happiness!

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

