Coconut Crackle Candies!

These delicious treats were a big hit with my a cappella group this evening! They were unbelievably easy to make, so I highly recommend that you try them anytime you want to impress people without having to work very hard.

I used the following ingredients (measurements are approximate!):

18oz (a package and a half) of chocolate chips – I like Whole Foods brand vegan chocolate chips best

2-3 tablespoons coconut oil

2 cups unsweetened shredded coconut

1 1/2 cups crispy rice cereal – I used Whole Foods brand brown rice crispies, you can use whatever you like!

 

First, toast the coconut. I did it one cup at a time, but if you have a big enough skillet you could do it all at once. I heated the skillet to medium and then let the coconut brown in the skillet. Be careful to make sure it doesn’t burn. Revel in how amazing this smells! When the coconut is toasted, put it in a large mixing bowl right away — don’t leave it in the skillet. Add the rice crispies and mix well.

Next, melt the chocolate and the coconut together. I started by heating them in a pot on medium heat, then lowered the heat when the melting action was really happening. You want to be stirring this constantly, to make sure it doesn’t burn. When the mixture is entirely liquefied, remove it from the heat and dump it right on into the bowl. Don’t wait or it will harden before you’re ready!

I turned the mixture into candy by spooning it into muffin cups. I filled each about half full, which made about 20 candies. Then I put them in the fridge for several hours. YUM.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Coconut Crackle Candies!

  1. karencee says:

    I apparently need to get some coconut oil, because I really want to try these. My mouth is already watering.

Leave a Reply

