[VeganMoFo Day 2!] Miso-Tahini Soup


Most of my best food originates with the thought: “I wonder what would happen if…”

I make miso soup quite often, usually using some variation on this recipe that I posted a few months ago. Last weekend I was cooking myself a pot of it, and as I was assembling the ingredients and digging through my fridge to see what veggies I’d throw in this time, inspiration struck. “I wonder what would happen if I put tahini in this?”

Oh. That was a good idea. YES.

The tahini adds an earthy mellowness to the flavor of the soup that goes well with the tanginess added by the lime juice and ginger, which I love to add to my miso soup as well.

What is tahini, you might ask? If you’re unfamiliar with tahini, it’s basically sesame seed butter; like peanut butter, but made from sesame seeds instead of peanuts. Incidentally, I have found that almond butter is often a great substitute, if you’re allergic to sesame or don’t have any around, and I have now tested this recipe with that substitution and found that it is also very good! I think peanut butter would make it a pretty different soup, but I bet that would taste great too, so if you decide to try that, let me know how it turns out!

Here’s the recipe I concocted!

4 cups water
1/4 cup (4 tablespoons) red miso
3-4 tablespoons Braggs liquid aminos or any soy sauce you have on hand
1-2 tablespoons tahini (start with one, add another if you really like it!)
juice of 1 lime
1 teaspoon ginger powder
up to 1/2 block of tofu, chopped into bite-sized chunks
whatever veggies you like! (my favorite combination for this soup: shiitake mushrooms, broccoli, and spinach)
1/2 cup nutritional yeast

Start the water boiling in a pot.
Combine the miso, Braggs or soy sauce, tahini, and lime juice by whisking them together in a separate bowl or cup. Once they’re pretty well combined, add them to the water.
Add the tofu, then the veggies, then the ginger powder.
Once the soup reaches a good boil, bring it down to a simmer (turn the heat down to “low)” and cover it. Let it cook for at least 10 minutes like this, then add the nutritional yeast.
I usually like to let my soups sit for a few hours past cooking them, so the flavors permeate the tofu and veggies, but if you’re hungry, go ahead and eat!
I always eat this (and just about everything else, too) with brown basmati rice. Use whatever rice or noodles you prefer, or just eat it by itself!

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2012 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to [VeganMoFo Day 2!] Miso-Tahini Soup

  1. Emily says:

    I LOVE tahini and am so intrigued by this soup. I also love that there is a 1/2 cup of nooch! A vegan after my own heart.

  2. Sal says:

    Sounds good to me! I haven’t made miso soup in ages.

  3. treeowl says:

    Tahini is really best for mixing into a sauce for a falafel sandwich that should also include red cabbage salad among other things (cucumer&tomato, maybe, curried cauliflower, pickled eggplant, etc. Don’t forget the etc.).

    • choirqueer says:

      Tahini is great for a lot of things! Do you have a recipe for red cabbage salad that you’d recommend? I have a red cabbage in my fridge right now.

      • treeowl says:

        I wish I had a recipe for the good stuff, but I don’t. It should be plenty sour though… I think usually from lemons, but some recipes may have vinegar. It needs to marinate for a few hours, I think….. no idea. But I DO know that really good red cabbage salad is key to making what I personally would consider a really great falafel sandwich.

  4. Brianne says:

    This soup sounds amazing. It’s on my list now!

  5. Thank goodness for your creativity! I’m gonna’ give this a whirl!

Leave a Reply

