[VeganMoFo Day 4!] Raw-esque Portabello Peanut Soup

Inspired by the recipe I found here on the “Raw on $10 A Day” blog for a Marinated Mushroom Soup (scroll down for it!), I decided to try to recreate it in my kitchen. Now, I don’t have a dehydrator, and the original recipe requires one, so I set about experimenting to see what I could do instead. I ended up putting the mushrooms and onions in the toaster oven for about 2 hours, with the heat control set to 115F, and the door propped open to let the moisture escape. I had to do this in several batches, because there wasn’t enough room on my toaster tray to even do it all at once. This did not entirely dehydrate them, and when I checked the temperature periodically, it had gone slightly above 120F, which meant the food could no longer be considered raw (118F seems to be considered the maximum for raw food), but since I am not following a raw food diet, this wasn’t a problem for me. If you are following a raw food diet, I think you would really need an actual dehydrator to make this recipe. If you’re not, you probably don’t need to do what I did; you could just bake the mushrooms and onions until they’re fairly dry. Mine were really not fully dehydrated when I finally decided to just take them out and make the soup, and it turned out great, so…do what works for you.

This is the recipe I came up with! I added peanuts because when I tasted the soup, it seemed like it needed some peanuts, and sure enough that’s exactly what it needed.

Part One:
8oz portabello mushrooms (any kind of mushrooms will work!)
1 medium onion
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon agave nectar
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar

Part Two:
1 avocado
1 large tomato
2-3 cloves garlic
3 tablespoons olive oil
1 cup water
3/4 cup peanuts
1/3 cup nutritional yeast
1/2 tsp smoked paprika (optional)
salt and pepper to taste

Chop your mushrooms and onions, then place them in a bowl or container with 1 tablespoon each of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, and agave nectar. Mix it up really well so the mushrooms and onions are completely covered in the liquids. Let this marinate in the fridge for at least a few hours. Then prepare them however you’ve decided you’re going to do it — bake them, dehydrate them, spend all day sitting in front of the toaster like I did…whatever you want to do.

When your mushrooms and onions are ready, they’re going to go in the blender. Scoop out your avocado, chop your tomato so it will fit in the blender, pour in the peanuts, add the olive oil and garlic, and then just keep adding more of the water until everything is all blended in. Add the nutritional yeast and smoked paprika (if using it) and give the blender a few more good whirrs.

This is one of those recipes that you might want to try and see if you want to add anything different to it. Let me know if you do! I’d be very interested to hear what else works well with this recipe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to [VeganMoFo Day 4!] Raw-esque Portabello Peanut Soup

  1. treeowl says:

    An easier option is to buy dried mushrooms.

  2. treeowl says:

    An easier option is to buy dried mushrooms.

  3. Laura says:

    Ooh, mushroom soup and peanut soup are two of my favorites, so I’m intrigued by the idea of combining the two. I’ll probably just bake the mushrooms and not try to dry them, since they’re going to re-consititute in the soup anyway.

Leave a Reply

