[VeganMofo Day 5!] Breadcrumb Tofu with Broccoli Rabe and Spaghetti

Isa Chandra Moskowitz, the master chef behind The Post Punk Kitchen, posted on the PPK message boards (where I hang out a lot) about her “Secrets to breaded tofu in 15 minutes” I thought that sounded like a great idea, so I tested it out in my own kitchen. I used oregano instead of thyme, because I keep forgetting that I’m out of thyme (maybe I should remember to put it on my shopping list!), and added some black pepper. You can season this however you want! I also used Braggs liquid aminos instead of tamari, because that’s what I had. Regular old soy sauce would work fine, too.

I did not press the tofu beforehand, so it was kind of fluffy on the inside and crispy on the outside. If you want it to be firmer on the inside, you’ll want to press it first. If you don’t have a tofu press, just wrap it in paper towels or reusable cloths (anything absorbent), set it on a flat surface, and stack a few fat cookbooks (or whatever you have around that’s flat and heavy) on top of it, then let it sit for at least an hour (several hours for best results).

I had a head of broccoli rabe in my fridge, so I chopped that up and cooked it it with 1/4 cup soy butter, 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar, 2 tablespoons lemon juice, and the leftover breadcrumb-nutritional-yeast-oregano mixture, then mixed that together with multi-grain spaghetti and put a few tofu cubes on top. TA DA! Dinner!

Photobucket

In retrospect, I would say that adding the breadcrumb mixture to the broccoli rabe was not the best idea. It worked well flavor-wise, and it was a clever idea to avoid wasting breadcrumb mixture, but it ended up very odd texturally and didn’t quite work with the pasta. Next time, I would just use nutritional yeast and oregano to season the broccoli rabe, or some different way of seasoning, and save the breadcrumbs for something else.

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to [VeganMofo Day 5!] Breadcrumb Tofu with Broccoli Rabe and Spaghetti

  1. Mandee says:

    That looks like a really good meal, like proper comfort food!

  2. Amanda says:

    That tofu looks so crispy! I’m off to check out Isa’s tofu tips!

  3. Pingback: [VeganMoFo Day 12!] More breaded tofu! | rainbow soup

Leave a Reply

