[VeganMoFo Day 7!] Dulce Sin Leche Cupcakes (with Rice Crispies on Top)

I sing with a pretty freaking kick-ass a cappella group. We rehearse on Sundays, and nearly every week I bake something and bring it to rehearsal. Yes, I am one of those weird people who likes baking better than I like eating desserts, so I only bake things if other people are going to help me eat them. Left to my own devices, I almost never eat desserts…not because I think they’re “bad” for me or anything, just that I like vegetables and savory foods better.

This week, I made the Dulce Sin Leche cupcakes from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World. If you ever want to bake a vegan cupcake, I highly recommend this book. I did modify the original recipe somewhat. I used cashew cream instead of coconut milk, because I forgot to check if I had any coconut milk before I went shopping this week, but I did buy a ton of cashews.

This is how you make cashew cream: Soak cashews in water (about 1 cup cashews to 1 1/2 cups water) for several hours or even overnight. Put the cashews and the water in the blender. TADA! Cashew cream. You can strain it if you don’t want little bits of nuts in your cashew cream, but I didn’t strain it and the cupcakes turned out fantastic, so…you really don’t need to do that.

The Dulce Sin Leche topping from the book requires soy milk powder. I could not find soy milk powder in time to make these cupcakes, so I improvized. First I melted a tablespoon of coconut oil with 1/2 cup regular soy milk. Then I added 1/3 cup brown rice syrup, 3 tablespoons arrowroot powder, and a tablespoon of brown sugar, and stirred until it was all melted. I took it off the heat and put it in a different container, so it would cool down to room temperature. Then I just kept adding confectioner’s sugar and stirring it in until it was the consistency I wanted…probably about 2 tablespoons or so.

I spread that on top of the cupcakes, then sprinkled rice crispies over them all.

Awesome.

Photobucket

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to [VeganMoFo Day 7!] Dulce Sin Leche Cupcakes (with Rice Crispies on Top)

  1. coldandsleepy2 says:

    Making cupcakes with cashew cream… I love that idea! Actually I love this whole idea. Nicely done!

  2. jen says:

    This sounds really good with some hot apple cider.

Leave a Reply

