[VeganMoFo Day 8!] Purple soup!

Purple is my favorite color!

Purple is also the color of:
my hair
my water bottle
my blanket
my shoes
my dinner

I’ve had a great big purple cabbage in my fridge for a few days, and I haven’t been sure what to do with it, because it’s just so big and beautiful and purple and fantastic. Finally I decided to just start chopping it up and see what would happen next.

Once I had chopped it up, I realized that there was just so much of it, there was no way it could all fit in my pot at once before it had been boiled down. So I put about half of it in my biggest soup pot with about 6 cups of water and 6 cups of veg broth, and let it cook down for a bit, then added the second half and boiled it some more. That was when I noticed how [i]totally gorgeous[/i] the water was at that moment, as the purple of the cabbage seeped out and turned the pot darker and darker. Ooooooooooooh…

I started looking around my kitchen for other things that were purple. I chopped up a shallot and caramelized it in some veg oil with a little bit of sesame oil, and then some red wine vinegar. I diced an apple and added that too; it wasn’t really very purple at first, but once I put it in the soup, it took the color right away and turned a glorious purple shade. I whisked together 3 tablespoons of red miso, 3 tablespoons of rice wine, and 3 tablespoons of Bragg’s liquid aminos, then added that to the soup too. I added some more red wine vinegar and nutritional yeast, then added salt and pepper at the table and VOILA!! Purple soup!

If I made this again, I would use a lot more shallots and apples. I only used one of each, but I think it would have been better with like…four or five shallots and maybe another apple or two. I might also use only about half the cabbage and not cook it for quite as long. I would have served it with red quinoa, but when I was about to start making it, I realized I didn’t have any.

This photo doesn’t even begin to do justice to how sublimely purple this soup is. It’s one of those things you kind of have to just see for yourself. So come on over! There’s plenty of soup.

2012-10-08174647

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

