[VeganMoFo Day 17!] What does a vegan zombie eat?

GRAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAINS!!!

[cue laugh track]

Let me tell you about some of my favorite grains.

Red Quinoa! I love this stuff. It’s a bit chewier and less fluffy than ordinary (brown) quinoa. Last year I posted this recipe for Curry Apple Quinoa which is an easy, tasty, super-potluck-friendly dish that I love to make.
Brown Basmati Rice! This is by far my favorite rice. I don’t even buy any other kind of rice, because no matter how much I like other kinds of rice, whenever I eat them, I’m secretly wishing for brown basmati. I add it to stuff like soup, curry, and dal. I put stuff on top of it, like mushrooms, veggies, and anything with lot of sauce.
Millet! Millet is pretty cool. It’s kind of like couscous, but a little more flavorful. I have a dish I often make with seitan and peanuts and kale and lime juice (I’ll get a postable recipe up someday, promise!) for which I use millet, and there’s a gloriously spicy Ethiopian millet recipe in Isa Chandra Moskowitz’s cookbook Appetite for Reduction: 125 Fast and Filling Low-Fat Vegan Recipes which I adore.
Popcorn! I just learned that popcorn is a grain, and a whole grain at that! It’s high in fiber too! I like to pop it on the stove and then top it with some olive oil, nutritional yeast, garlic powder, salt and pepper. I also have a Coconut Curry Caramel Corn recipe that I love to make.
Pasta! Did you know that most pasta (at least in the USA) is vegan? Occasionally you’ll find noodles that contain egg, but it’s pretty uncommon. Since I’m not a huge fan of whole wheat noodles, I eat pasta less often than other grains just because I prefer to eat whole grains most of the time. But some things really are better to eat with for noodles, and sometimes I’m just in the mood for some pasta!

What are some of your favorite grains?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to [VeganMoFo Day 17!] What does a vegan zombie eat?

  1. bahaha, ohhhh I love that joke and tell it all the time, usually whilst dissolving into giggles with the occasional snort thrown in for good measure. Vegan brains – I mean grains – rock.

  2. treeowl says:

    Quinoa is not a grain. Wheat is one of my favorites, made into all sorts of breads, including roti and also whole wheat sourdough. Rye bread is good too, as long as it’s not contaminated with caraway seeds (whoever thought of adding those should be posthumously fired). Also, oatmeal (which I often call moat eel) is the perfect winter breakfast.

    • choirqueer says:

      I have now researched this! It is interesting — it seems that quinoa is technically not a “grain”, but when you refer to individual pieces of quinoa, you’d say “quinoa grains”, not “quinoa seeds”, and culinarily it functions the way grains do. Kind of like how eggplant is botanically a fruit, but culinarily a vegetable.

  3. coldandsleepy2 says:

    Polenta! Whole wheat couscous! And you’re right, brown basmati is the best thing ever.

Leave a Reply

