[VeganMoFo Day 18!] “Beef”abulous Stew!

Isa posted this recipe for Seitan Porcini Beef Stew on Facebook recently. I never was all that into beef stew, pre-veganism, but for some reason, whenever Isa mentions mushrooms, I have to go make whatever it is she’s used them in, because I get the impression that she appreciates mushrooms as much as I do and that makes me really happy.

So I messed around with her recipe a bit and came up with my own version. I made mine pretty spicy, but you can leave out the hot spices and use a blander sausage (or none at all — Isa suggests that tofu would work well, too). If you happen to not like mushrooms (it’s okay, not everyone has to like what I like!), use whatever veggies you do like.

I also used this amaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaazing spice blend that I got from my friend who works at The Spice House in Chicago. It’s called Vulcan’s Fire Salt. It contains: salt, Lousiana chile, garlic, habañero chile, shallots, pepper, lime, pimenton, cumin, allspice, and vinegar. If you don’t have Vulcan’s Fire Salt, you can…go order some! I’ll wait! Just kidding. You could use chipotle, or add hot sauce, or whatever you want, really. It’s a stew, so you can really sorta do whatever you want to it.

I’ll tell you what I did!

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
8 cloves garlic, minced
1 cup red wine (I used marsala)
2 teaspoons rosemary
2 teaspoons thyme
1 tablespoon cumin
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
pinch of salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon Vulcan’s Fire Salt
5oz shiitake mushrooms
1/2 cup crushed tomatoes
2 cups vegetable broth
1 1/2 cups water
1 pound potatoes, chopped into bite-sized pieces (I used russet, and did not peel them; you can use whatever kind you want, and peel them as much as you like)
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup nutritional yeast
several handfuls of spinach
2 vegan sausages, chopped in rounds (I used Field Roast Mexican Chipotle, which is pretty spicy! You can use whatever kind you like…or try Isa’s recipe, for which I cannot vouch since I have not tried that recipe…or use tofu…or leave it out…whatever you like, it’s your stew!)
1/4 cup white wine vinegar

I sauteed the onions in the olive oil. I added the garlic, then poured in the red wine before it browned. I used my mortar and pestle (why yes, I do have a mortar and pestle!) to pulverize the rosemary, thyme, and cumin together. I added the rosemary, thyme, cumin, smoked paprika, salt, pepper, Vulcan’s Fire Salt, mushrooms, tomatoes, vegetable broth, and 1 cup of water, then let all that cook, covered, over medium-high heat for about five minutes before adding the potatoes. I turned the heat down to medium and gave it about 15 minutes (still covered). While that cooked, I mixed the flour and remaining 1/2 cup water together. I added that mixture, and the spinach, sausages, nutritional yeast, and white wine vinegar to the pot, stirred it really well, and then let it simmer (heat turned down to low) for another 5 minutes.

I ate it over brown basmati rice (the best rice!)

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [VeganMoFo Day 18!] “Beef”abulous Stew!

  1. Amy says:

    I love the Vulcan Fire Salt. Have been using it on grilled veggies all summer. I was looking for something to use it in now that the weather has changed. I’m going to have to try this.

Leave a Reply

