[VeganMoFo Day 21!] Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles!

This week has been crazy! I’ve missed posting a couple of days, between my mom’s visit this weekend and having a ton of homework all week. But here’s a great recipe for you today!

The making of this treat came about due to a severely failed experiment in cookie-baking last night. To make a long story short, I’m part of a singing organization that has 3 a cappella groups each season, and since the members change every few months, we get different group names at the beginning of each season, and this season our groups are called Snap, Crackle, and Pop. It’s become my routine to bring some sort of homemade vegan treat to rehearsal every week for over a year now, so this season I’ve been trying to make something every week using Rice Krispies (well, actually, “rice crispies”…I’m not using the brand name stuff, though I believe it is vegan if you want to use that!)

Well, this week I had this whole plan to adapt a whole fancy-shmancy cookie recipe to be made with rice crispies, and it turned out completely gross and inedible…and used up all the rice crispies I had in my pantry. Crap! Now what? I had to come up with something that would be so totally fantastic that nobody would notice I had failed to include rice crispies in the recipe.

So I found this amazing recipe for chocolate chip cookie dough truffles: http://www.usuallyvegan.com/2012/02/14/vegan-cookie-dough-truffles/

I made a few modifications:
-I used 1 cup of flour, not 1 1/4 cups.
-I used only a pinch of salt, not a full 1/4 teaspoon.
-I used 2/3 cup chocolate chips in the dough, and I pulsed them in the food processor for a little bit first.
-I made the outer coating by melting 12oz chocolate chips with 1 tablespoon coconut oil
-The recipe said that rolling the dough into 1-inch balls would yield ~45 truffles. I realized right away that this wasn’t even going to come close to being accurate, and I did actually need about 50 truffles! So what I ended up doing was rolling teaspoon-sized balls, which got me to 25, which I then refrigerated for an hour and then cut each one in half once they’d solidified more, and then I coated them in chocolate before freezing them. Next time I’ll just double the recipe if I want 50 truffles…though, let me tell you, these got eaten up so fast, I probably should have made 100.

They were really easy to make! And no baking is needed!

This entry was posted in food, VeganMoFo 2012. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to [VeganMoFo Day 21!] Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Truffles!

  1. Rachel says:

    YUM! These sound amazeballs!

Leave a Reply

