Shiitake-Chard Soupganoff!

I didn’t manage to post every day during VeganMoFo, but I am okay with that! I just didn’t have enough things to post, and I didn’t want to start making a lot of “filler” posts just to have something up here every day. I had a lot more time to just cook all day last year, and I also used up all my standby recipes that I’ve been making for years, so I would have had to come up with all new content every single day this year in order to post every day.

But what I am going to try to do from here on out is to post new recipes more often!

So, let’s start off November with a tasty soup I made, featuring shiitake mushrooms and some chard handpicked with love from a friend’s garden.

vegetable oil for sauteing
1 onion, diced
5 cloves garlic, minced (I’d probably use more next time)
4oz shiitake mushroom, sliced
2/3 cup red cooking wine (I’d probably use more of this next time too, but that was all I had)
2/3 cup red wine vinegar
4 cups water
2 cups soy milk (I’d probably use cashew cream next time to make it thicker, but I didn’t feel like washing the blender!)
3 vegetable bouillion cubes (2-cups each)
1 heaping tablespoon each of: rosemary, thyme, oregano
1 teaspoon smoked paprika
2 teaspoons black pepper
a couple handfuls of chard
1/4 cup lemon juice
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
3 tablespoons cornstarch or arrowroot powder

I heated the vegetable oil in a large pot, then sauteed the onions until they started to lose their shapes. I added the garlic and let it cook while I stirred it for a minute or two. I added the mushrooms, stirred for another minute or two to combine them well with the onions and garlic, then added the cooking wine and 1/3 cup of the red wine vinegar. I let this cook till there was no more liquid, which took about 12 minutes. I stirred it occasionally to make sure nothing was going to burn, but not so much that it wouldn’t cook.

I then added the water, soy milk, and bouillion cubes. I used my mortar and pestle to pulverize the dried herbs, then added them to the pot along with the smoked paprika and black pepper. I added the chard, which had been frozen, directly into the pot at this point, so it just defrosted right into the soup. I let it simmer for about 20 minutes. While it was simmering, I boiled some quinoa spaghetti, cooking it for about 6 minutes so it kept its shape and texture instead of just turning to mush, which would have been kinda gross in soup.

Returning to the soup, I added the lemon juice and the remaining 1/3 cup of red wine vinegar. Then I added nutritional yeast and cornstarch until it was the right consistency.

It came out quite well, and I was very pleased with how it went with the quinoa spaghetti!

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

