Pumpkin Pie Gingersnaps!

1/2 cup soy butter
1 cup sugar
1/4 cup molasses
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup pumpkin puree (about 1/2 can)
2 1/3 cup flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 tablespoons ginger powder
1 1/2 tablespoons cinnamon
1 1/2 teaspoons nutmeg
1 teaspoon allspice
pinch of cloves

I put the butter and sugar in a bowl and let the butter reach room temperature while I combined the dry ingredients. I sifted together the flour, baking soda, and spices, mixing them together really well. Then I used an electric hand mixer to mix the butter and sugar, which made a sorta-lumpy/sorta-creamy mixture. I added the molasses, applesauce, and pumpkin, continuing to mix with the hand mixer till it was all creamy. Then I added the dry ingredients and stirred it all together with a large wooden spoon, combining it into a pretty thick dough. I let the dough sit in the fridge for a few minutes (an hour is probably ideal, but I was pressed for time), while preheating the oven to 350F. I lined my cookie sheets with aluminum foil (parchment paper works too!) and used a tablespoon to spoon out each cookie, then rolled each into a ball before putting it on my cookie sheet. I flattened each cookie a little with my palm, then baked them for 12 minutes.

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pumpkin Pie Gingersnaps!

Leave a Reply

