Tempeh & Broccoli Stir-Fry with Peanut Butter Lime BBQ Sauce

This was a use-up-stuff-in-my-fridge recipe that turned out really well. I’m not usually a huge fan of the “barbecue sauce” flavor for some reason, but the peanut butter and lime balance it out really nicely. The idea for this came from this recipe from the Post Punk Kitchen blog, which calls for seitan. I realized just as I was about to add the seitan that I actually didn’t have any, so I brought in my pal Tempeh to pinch-hit and as usual it hit a home-run.

Okay, let’s get to the recipe before I start really doing some damage with the baseball metaphors.

 

Sauce Ingredients
½ cup peanut butter
4-5 Tbsp soy sauce or Bragg’s liquid aminos (or low-salt veg broth if you’re watching salt)
¼ cup balsamic vinegar
¼ cup lime juice
2 Tbsp maple syrup
2 Tbsp tomato sauce
1 Tbsp Dijon mustard
½ tsp liquid smoke or smoked paprika
hot sauce (I used Sriracha)
cayenne pepper, chili powder, or whatever you like to add for extra heat (I use Vulcan Fire Salt)

Stir-Fry Ingredients
about 1 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 medium onion, diced
6-8 cloves garlic, minced
pinch of black pepper
8oz tempeh
broccoli (I used 2 heads, so maybe about 4 cups), chopped into bite-sized pieces
2 tbsp rice wine
liquid for deglazing (I used more rice wine)
⅓ cup nutritional yeast

Combine the sauce ingredients in a mixing bowl. You can marinate your tempeh for a few hours or overnight, if you like. (I didn’t, because I like the tempeh flavor to come through more.)

Heat the veg oil over medium heat. Saute the onions until they’re translucent, then add the tempeh and stir-fry it till it’s golden. Add the garlic and black pepper and give it another stir. If things are sticking to your pan, deglaze by adding some liquid and stirring more. Add the broccoli and rice wine. Cover the pot and let it cook till the broccoli is tender — you want it biteable, but not mushy.

Now add the sauce. Stir everything together. Add the nutritional yeast. If you feel like your sauce isn’t saucy enough, add more lime juice or vinegar or whatever it seems to want!

This goes really well with brown basmati rice (of course, I think EVERYTHING goes really well with brown basmati rice).

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tempeh & Broccoli Stir-Fry with Peanut Butter Lime BBQ Sauce

  1. treeowl says:

    That sounds good, though I usually prefer seitan or some sort of soy protein stuff I don’t know the name of to tempeh.

Leave a Reply

