Cardamom Greens’n’Beans

Usually when I make greens’n’beans, I amp it up with savory flavors and lots of heat. Today I was in the mood for something a little lighter, so I left out the hot sauce and played around with some sweeter flavors. You’ll notice that this is a salt-free recipe! I didn’t do that on purpose, but it just happened to work out that way and it really doesn’t seem to me to need any salt (though of course you’re free to add whatever you want if you make it yourself)! Although it’s not the most abundant ingredient in the recipe, the cardamom is the flavor that really pops out in the mix, so it has thus become the working moniker for this recipe. I’m eating it with millet right now since that’s what I happen to have already cooked, but I’m going to make a pot of brown basmati rice later to go with the leftovers!

6-8 cloves garlic, minced
1 can black beans, rinsed and drained
1-2 tomatoes, diced
1 Tbsp cumin
2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp cardamom
1 tsp curry powder
¼ cup red wine vinegar
¼ cup coconut milk
¼ cup nutritional yeast
several handfuls of greens (I used baby kale)

Saute the garlic in oil until it browns. Stir in the beans. Add the tomatoes and let them start to cook down a little, then add the cumin, cinnamon, cardamom, and curry powder. Add the vinegar, coconut milk, and greens. Stir and let it cook so the greens wilt. Add the nutritional yeast, then let it simmer till the sauce reaches your desired thickness.

This entry was posted in food and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

