Mushroom-Barley-Veggie Soup (for slow cooker!)

I’m not doing VeganMoFo this year because I didn’t feel like I could commit to posting regularly enough to do the whole month thing. But I’m still here and I’m still cooking!! I got a slow cooker recently and I’m so in love with it. Here is my newest recipe, slow cooker style!

1 onion, diced
8-10 cloves garlic, minced
2-3 medium tomatoes (~1 14.5oz can), diced, with their juices
4 cups portabello mushrooms (or any mushrooms you like), sliced into bite-sized pieces
2-3 medium potatoes, chopped into bite-sized pieces
1 cup pearl barley
½ cup black (beluga) lentils (optional, or use some other kind of lentils if you don’t have these)
4-5 cups veg broth
1 Tbsp oregano
1 Tbsp thyme
1 Tbsp dill
½ Tbsp sage
½ Tbsp black pepper
1-2 Tbsp soy sauce (I use Bragg’s liquid aminos)
several handfuls of chopped greens (I used collards)
lemon juice to taste
nutritional yeast (optional)

Note: I used dried herbs, so proportions are noted accordingly. If you’re using fresh herbs, you’ll want to adjust as needed.

Put all ingredients except the greens and lemon juice in the slow cooker. Cook for 6 hours on low. Add greens and lemon juice. Taste for seasoning and adjust as desired, then cook for another 30 minutes on low. Add nutritional yeast if desired.

This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

