Sweet’n’Sour Pad Thai

A friend made me some really good Pad Thai the other night and I’ve been wanting to play around with my go-to Pad Thai recipe for a while, so I came up with this. I made it in the middle of the night, so I was kinda just throwing stuff together, but it came out so well I really wanted to share it. Here’s what I think I did!

marinade:
2 Tbsp tamarind paste
2 Tbsp miso paste (I used white miso)
1/4 cup lime juice
1/4 cup soy sauce (I used Bragg’s liquid aminos)
2 Tbsp rice vinegar
1/4 cup creamy peanut butter
1-2 Tbsp sriracha (leave it out if you like it mild)

everything else:
1 block (14oz) tofu, cubed
~8oz noodles (I used brown rice noodles)
oil for sauteeing (I used peanut oil)
12-15 cloves garlic, minced
a whole lot of ginger (I used about a Tbsp ginger powder)
1/2 cup cilantro, finely chopped
1 head broccoli, chopped into bite-sized pieces
~10 scallions, chopped
3/4 cup coconut milk (I strongly recommend full fat, from a well-shaken can!)
1/2 cup nutritional yeast
1 cup peanuts (you can chop or crush them if you like!)
mung bean sprouts (optional)

Combine the marinade ingredients in a container that has a lid you can shut (like a tupperware). Put the tofu in the container with the marinade. Shut the lid and shake it up really well! If you wish, dance or twirl or roll around your kitchen while you do this; it will make it taste better. Put the container in the fridge for 4 hours (if you need to eat this TODAY) or overnight (if you’re planning ahead for somethin’ extra-special).

Cook the noodles according to package instructions. When they’re done, drain them and set them aside.

In a large pot, heat the oil. Add the garlic and ginger. (If you’re using fresh ginger, put them in at the same time; if powder, put the garlic in first and give it a minute or so.) Get your tofu out of the fridge and dump the entire contents of the container (sauce and all) into the pot. Stir. Add the cilantro and broccoli. Let this cook for 5 minutes or so, then add the scallions. After another minute or so, add the coconut milk, stir for a bit, then add the nutritional yeast. Now put the noodles in the pot with everything else and stir really well to combine all the ingredients with the noodles. Add the peanuts. Garnish with mung bean sprouts if you’re into that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweet’n’Sour Pad Thai

  1. Pingback: Miso-Tamarind Lentils | rainbow soup

Leave a Reply

